My hand-made seal (직접 만든 도장)

Posted on April 7, 2017

0


I finally have my own seal (도장)! And I made it myself.

It was a lot easier than I thought.  But it required a lot of patience and concentration while carving my name. Roughly two hours later, I had something to sign my postcards and letters and what-not with. And in my real Hangeul (한글) writing!

I asked one of the crafts class facilitators how Koreans can make their seals different,  given that their names tend to be similar.  He said, based from my understanding as the conversation was in Korean language,  that Koreans’ seals are registered with the government so every seal is unique.  He also said that Koreans use it to buy a house or for making big transactions.

He also said that nowadays,  seals can be made by machine.  Hand-made seals are more expensive.

I’ve got my own little treasure in my hands. ㅋㅋ

If you want to make your own seal,  you can register at the Seoul Global Cultural Center website.  The class is usually held at the National Museum of Korea,  so you can even view exhibits right after!

