On being a speaker and panel chair at the 1st Filipino International Researchers, Scholars, and Trainees Symposium (6 January 2015)

Posted on January 24, 2015

0


Thanks to the invitation of a fellow Filipino scholar who studied in Korea, I got the chance to present my research on the representations of Southeast Asian migrant wives in Korean film and television at the Filipino International Researchers, Scholars, and Trainees Symposium held last January 6, 2015 at the First Pacific Leadership Academy in Antipolo City, Philippines.

This is me, talking about my research on the representations of Southeast Asian migrant wives in Korean film and television at the Filipino International Researchers, Scholars and Trainees Symposium held last January 6, 2015 at the First Pacific Leadership Academy in Antipolo City, Philippines.

This is me, talking about my research on the representations of Southeast Asian migrant wives in Korean film and television at the Filipino International Researchers, Scholars and Trainees Symposium held last January 6, 2015 at the First Pacific Leadership Academy in Antipolo City, Philippines.

Aside from learning about current research by Filipinos on Korea and Japan, I also met new friends and collected tips on how to live as a PhD international student (I aspire to be one) and how to cope with going back to academic life after.

I thought my experience of depression and disappointment about the poor state of the Philippines upon going back here was unique only to me, but it turned out to be a common experience among scholars returning to the Philippines. That was comforting to know. But I am recovering from that now, slowly but surely.

In no particular order, these were the other tips and advice I got from older speakers:

1. Be friends with your cohort (or fellow PhD students) because they will also be your future colleagues. Cooperation and friendly relations is key to accomplishing more research and academic collaborations. The academic world is quite small.

2. Maintain a good relationship with your PhD supervisor. This means not just a working relationship but a personal, friendly relationship. Again, the academic world is quite small.

3. Brain Gain. Help other Filipinos do their research abroad to uplift the state of knowledge production in the Philippines.

