My first formal teaching stint: A class on the Korean Wave

Posted on November 2, 2014

0


My first class as a faculty (part-time) at the Communication Department of Ateneo de Manila University in the Philippines

My first class as a faculty (part-time) at the Communication Department of Ateneo de Manila University in the Philippines

I’ll start teaching part-time at the Communication Department of Ateneo de Manila University on the second semester of school year 2014-2015. Since my university hasn’t shifted to the new calendar that follows the international time frame yet, I start class this November. Class ends on March.

I’ll be teaching a class called COM 110.13 Special Topics in Communication: The Korean Wave. When the department chair asked me what class I can teach, this is the first idea that came to mind. It’s something I know a lot about, thanks to my two research works in my two master’s degrees.

While brainstorming, the department chair also suggested a class on Korean Film, a subject which I also know a lot about. But I figured I will need more time to choose films, to figure out the appropriate lens, and to gain access to DVD versions of these films (I watch online and in the cinema).

Figuring out the appropriate lens was a toss between Korean history and Korean culture/society. After months of debating with myself, I figured going for Korean culture/society as the guide to my discussion of the films is the best way. I think it’s more accessible to students, especially those who are new to Korean Studies. But since I already chose to go for a class in Korean Wave this semester, I hope I can still suggest a class on Korean Film in the future.

For now, I have around 24 students who enlisted in my Korean Wave class. They are from diverse backgrounds – Communication, Business Management, Biology, and Psychology, to name a few. Most of them are also senior students. I sincerely hope that they will learn something new from my class. Wish me luck!

