Michelle Camille Correa, M.A.

Posted on March 4, 2012

2


Korean TV dramas collage

My current research obsession: Filipino working women's reception of Korean TV dramas. I hope I'll have more opportunities to do research on this. And super thanks to my research adviser for pointing me to the right direction!

Not that I’ll be flaunting my academic credentials by signing my name like that from now on. It’s just too strange, since I’m not even a professor of any sort. I’m just a communication practitioner who wanted to improve her craft through further studies.

At any rate, I’m writing this blog post just to share that yeah, I’m finally graduating with a degree in MA Communication this year. That is, after almost four years of crazily balancing school with full-time work.

These days, though, I’m wondering what I’ll be doing with all the extra time that’s suddenly in my hands. For the past four years, I’ve been spending my days reading books and journal articles and writing papers. And I’m scared to think that my graduation might signal the beginning of the end of my intellectual growth.

So I thought of going back to language studies soon. Chinese, Japanese, Korean. There’s now more time for that. I’m also toying with the idea of doing research projects on the side, since after investigating my Independent Study research question, it spawned more questions about Filipino working women’s reception of Korean TV dramas. Also, it would be fun to study Chinese TV dramas and Japanese TV dramas in the context of feminist media studies (i.e., popular feminism), too.

I just hope that there’s a research center that will take me in. I’m reasonably intelligent, very hardworking, and humble enough to consider recommendations and criticisms, so what’s not to like, right?

I’m not sure what the future has in store for me. But I hope it will be good. Well, not just good, but great. Glowing great.

