The efficiency of a power shovel scooping earth

Posted on September 1, 2011

0


“Tengo, by contrast, was curious about everything. He absorbed knowledge from a broad range of fields with the efficiency of a power shovel scooping earth.”

***
This quote from Haruki Murakami’s “Town of Cats” pretty much describes my graduate school experience–an experience that is about to end soon. As long as I pass my comprehensive exams on the next two Saturdays, that is. Oh, and my thesis, too!
I will definitely miss poring over required readings and not-so-required readings and writing (cramming?) papers in between office hours and sleep. I’ll miss secretly experimenting with concepts I’ve learned in class at work. And I’ll forever be proud of braving two electives outside of my chosen discipline – Environment, Culture & Society (Sociology) and International Relations (Political Science) – and performing excellently in both.
I’m looking forward to more learning alongside living. Whether it is in the academe or elsewhere, I don’t really mind as long as I’m happy. And what really makes me happy? Traveling, eating, living and learning with “the efficiency of a power shovel scooping earth.”
