Byline, byline everywhere! (Part 2: Philippine Star)

Posted on July 4, 2011

0


I found two of my works at Philippine Star yesterday. Both were press releases for Ateneo de Manila.

The first was my coverage of the Wimax donation of Ionics EMS to the School of Science and Engineering (SOSE). I liked writing this particular press release because anything SOSE-related is bound to have some social impact attached to it. In this case, the Wimax donation will be used, among other things, to give wide-reaching Wimax to the university community and the Marikina Valley area.

The second press release that appeared on Philippine Star was about the commemorative exhibit for our national hero Jose Rizal’s 150th birthday. I haven’t actually seen the exhibit, so it’s a wonder how I was able to write something substantial. Oh well, I suppose the ability comes with experience.

This time, the editors re-wrote and re-arranged details of the press release. But I don’t really mind. The aim is to get the word out on the exhibit anyway, and not to feed my artist’s ego.

