Graduating…soon!

Posted on April 17, 2011

0


Congratulations is still not in order, grad school-wise, but I’d like to believe I’m getting there. I’m done with all my coursework, albeit with a couple of “wrinkles” I failed to manage to iron out into an A…or even an A-. But at least I passed those two “wrinkles” and didn’t have to repeat them–classes which happened to be taught by two of the Ateneo Communication Department’s toughest teachers.

Also noteworthy is the fact that the two electives which I took outside of the Communication Department turned out fine, considering I had to adjust to another department’s culture and to catch up on concepts that are outside of my field. There’s Environment, Culture, and Society class from the Department of Sociology and Anthropology.  There’s also International Relations from the Political Science Department. I was aiming for just B+s in both, since those two were tough nuts to crack. The required readings were tremendous, the former had almost one paper due per week plus field work in a coastal town in Cavite, and the latter had one major paper that’s supposed to be academic journal-worthy, and which the professor gave us one year to finish. Luckily, I was able to transcend both classes, and with A-s to boot!

So now I’m getting closer to my Masters degree. I’m currently studying for comprehensive exams. I initially planned to take this during the summer semester, but my two vacation trips ran right smack in the middle of comps. So my best option, if I am to ace this, is to take this in September. On a brighter note, even if this sets back my planned graduation date by one semester (and consequently, my career plans), at least I’ll have more time to review all the notes from all the classes I’ve ever taken in grad school. And as Martha Steward used to say, “That’s a good thing.”

