Learning Chinese Through Filipino

Posted on February 13, 2011

0


Photo by Me.

I have a new Chinese learning book!

Last Wednesday, Jade, a new Beijing-based friend whom I met at the premiere of this year’s Chinese Spring Film Festival, emailed me to say that she left a Chinese learning book for me with one of the people at work. Squee! I was busy at work but since I’m a total spaz when it comes to books, I couldn’t help but leave my desk to get it. I was THAT excited.

And what a surprise I got. It wasn’t what I was expecting. I thought it was going to be like the usual Chinese learning books I see. That is, with the grammatical notes written in English, and the actual lessons to be learned written in Chinese characters. But no, this one was totally different. It’s Chinese learning via the Filipino language! Coolness.

Photo by Me.

There are 6 booklets inside plus a CD. Each chapter in each book contains 10-minute lessons on the Chinese language. You’re supposed to listen to each lesson while reading the chapter in the booklet for maximum learning. It’s totally ideal for everyday listening practice.

The lessons came from Jade and her partner’s radio program at China Radio International.  Moreover, each lesson ends with some tips and trivia on Chinese culture.

You’d be amazed at how well the hosts, although Chinese, speak Filipino so well. They’re even better than some actual Filipinos I know! According to Jade, she learned the Filipino language in Beijing , China. There’s a Filipino Studies program in one of the universities there. It took her four years to be so fluent.

I emailed her to say thanks and to express my excitement over learning Chinese in a fun, Filipino way!

