Smiling!

Posted on January 15, 2011

0


My life as a full-time Communications employee and as a part-time Communications student has been crazy. Work demands that I oversee and implement a lot of things. My Communication Research class, meanwhile, is proving to be a tough nut to crack. But I have three reasons to smile.

First, I’m about to watch Episode 9 of “Smile”, a 2009 Japanese drama starring Matsumoto Jun. He plays the role of Vito, a half-Japanese, half-Filipino here. So far, he’s been in an incredible series of unfortunate events and I’ve been fighting back tears as I watched each episode. I’ve been waiting for him to speak a bit of Tagalog but some blogs I’ve read said it won’t ever happen. Sigh. But the story, though heavy, is really a good tear-jerker. To which I’m a sucker for.

Also, watching this helps me remember what little Nihongo I’ve managed to learn. Relaxation and learning. Kills two birds with one stone. Sounds good to me.

There are 11 episodes all in all. Can’t wait to finish it!

 

Second, the news may have reached me late (well, very, very late) but I just accidentally discovered last night, while checking out honeydew.com, that FIR, a Chinese band I like, released their latest album last 2009. It’s called “Let’s Smile” and it’s supposed to be their 5th anniversary album. I’m listening to it right now and so far, I’m liking it.

Of course this also serves as my Chinese language listening practice.

Last but not least is the comeback performance of TVXQ / DBSK / HoMin. I’m not a Cassie (yet?) but I’m really liking this performance. I downloaded the whole album early this week and I like every song!

Changmin especially sings and raps soooo good! My favorite bit is when he says “I’m just chillin’, feel like I’m healin'”. I get a very, very, very pleasant kick out of hearing it.  So…I’ve been listening to it non-stop for the whole week. It made churning out work writeups and a research proposal more bearable.

Thank God for countless ways of escapism via the internet. Smiling!

