First time facilitator

Posted on August 1, 2010

0


Yesterday I gave a talk to grade school kids about Internet etiquette at the 1st Pupil Leaders’ Congress, a congress organized by the Catholic Educational Association of the Philippines (CEAP) at St. Paul College in Pasig City. In particular, I gave kids aged 11-13 years old tips on establishing a good online reputation. I also shared stories of my work as manager of Ateneo de Manila’s Facebook, Twitter and Youtube pages, as well as stories of my own web experiences.

I was with 9 other speakers/ facilitators who gave talks on leadership, music, dance, theater, journalism, and volunteerism, among others. This was my first time to be speaker and workshop facilitator so I was so nervous. Good thing Ma’am Christine Bellen was kind enough to give some words of wisdom. She said, in the gentlest of manners, “Ituro mo lang lahat ng nalalaman mo (Just teach what you know by heart),” when I confided how crazy nervous I was. But I prayed hard to God to just let Him speak through me, and I’m glad God heard me. I tried to apply the participatory approaches I learned in my M.A. classes. I asked kids some probing questions and points for discussion so that they themselves will realize, through their answers, what good online reputation is. When my talk was done, I thanked God and then thanked Ma’am Christine.

And thank God, too, for kids who are open to learning, who asked a lot of practical and insightful questions–which I hope I was able to answer well–and who shared their own internet adventures!

And of course I should also thank Mr. Jonny Salvador, assistant headmaster for student affairs at the Ateneo de Manila Grade School, for trusting me enough to do a good job!

This is a link to my presentation: Prezi – Facebook Face Value. In retrospect, there’s a lot of room for improvement.  But I’m glad I was given a great start to make my sharing about my learnings more engaging, helpful and fun.

