BFN’s Birthday!

Posted on March 16, 2010

0


Yesterday, March 15, was Ateneo de Manila University President Fr. Bienvenido F. Nebres, S.J.’s (BFN) birthday. As with every year of his birthday, he holds an open house overflowing with food. And as with every year that I’ve been working at Ateneo, I never failed to come there. He is, after all, the university president. But most of all, I come there because it’s my idol’s birthday! =)

Yesterday was the best, though. The food was good. People were in high spirits (some talented members of the community even sang BFN’s favorite songs as their gift). And I was able to muster the courage to come up to BFN and greet him a happy birthday. To which he responded with a smile and a sort of hug. Coolness! That was the closer I ever got to my idol. YEAH!

Now what does that have to do with communication, which this blog is all about? Simple. It’s that it’s great to have a leader who is respected, who genuinely cares for people, and who is approachable. It communicates that the organization cares. It’s good public relations.

Posted in: Ateneo