Quality work deserves quality pay

Posted on February 7, 2010

0


Even if my line of work is more into communication and public relations than journalism, I still take pride in what I believe I can do best: Write.

People think writing is just a matter of stringing any set of words together on a keyboard, but in reality, it’s more than that. Writing is a creative process: you conceputalize, you research, you write, you edit, you proofread, you publish. There’s a lot of brain work (thinking and reflecting) and physical work (field research and interviews)  involved.

That is why I find it unfair that more and more publishers demand content that is either free or dirt cheap. And I also find it unfair that more and more writers are succuming to this scenario.

Quality work deserves quality pay.

Writers do not just learn writing in a day. It takes years. It takes dedication. It takes practice. It takes love.

That is why the quote below struck a chord in me. It’s by Allan D. Mutter, writer and adjunct faculty of the Graduate School of Journalism at the University of California- Berkeley. The whole post can be found at  his blog Reflections of a Newsosaur.

Quality journalism takes training, time and tenacity. Although it’s easy to fill space with words, pictures and videos that are produced quickly and on the cheap, down-and-dirty “journalism” is the intellectual equivalent of empty calories.

Now why did it strike a chord in me? Because as a young writer living in a third world country, I’ve always experienced this even during my days as a freelance magazine and web writer in college–way, way, way before it affected journalists in the United States.

I suppose this is why I decided to do the brave thing: to adapt and learn technical skills such as photograpy, videography and web publishing (layouting and photoshop is next!), to pursue my M.A. in Communication while employed fulltime, to expand my capacities to include not just writing but strategic thinking and planning, evaluation and implementation, leadership and management. I’ve always known that I love the communication field, and I want it to love me back by letting me do something where I can live out my passion and make a decent living at the same time.

DV8UZHQGNN6V

