The quote that will light a thousand candles

Posted on February 5, 2010

0


I would like to begin this blog with a quote that will fire up this phase in my life–this phase of learning the fundamentals of communication, this phase of pursuing my M.A. in Communication.

I know that learning is a life-long process. And this quote is a good place to light up my fire.

This is from Ateneo President Bienvenido F. Nebres, S.J., one of the greatest minds on earth, my role model. This is an advice he gave to a young medical school student who wants to help make a difference as a doctor, even if she is still a student, through volunteer work. But thing is, she can’t devote as much time to it as she wants because of the demands of academic life.

Fr. Nebres said:

“There’s a time for all things. Even the Lord spent 30 years doing that before he went out. So don’t feel so bad. God lived a very simple life, working as carpenter to feed his mother—very ordinary things before he launched into big things. So it’s okay, your time will come. But keep your heart burning.”

And burn, we will.

Contexts here:

APS Sesquicentennial Congress: The beginning of change

Environmental stuff I learned from the APS Congress

Posted in: Ateneo, Quotes